Google+

A New Year’s Confession

Leave a comment

January 4, 2013 by jcfarnham

My Ultimate Goal for this blog has always been to convey the “home truths” of the craft of writing – to chart not only my growth but to impart a little knowledge from the front lines as I go.

So in that spirit I’m owning up to something I’m not terribly proud of, in the hopes that you, dear reader, can learn something from my failures.

Some of you may already know, but this years NaNoWriMo was a complete bust in the Jc Camp. I got about 7000 worlds in a found I didn’t have the mental energy or composure needed to complete the challenge and just flat out gave up.

If ever there was an example of not being the right frame of mind, or situation, to write- this was one of them.

Never the less the words I did manage to write make up the basis of about three short stories. So all in all it wasn’t a complete waste of time. I came out of November with at least two-three things to be salvaged, polished and eventually published. They are after all legitimate first drafts.

I think that’s a lesson we writers to learn at some point early on in our careers and indeed its one I’ve touched on before:

Even if a project seems a total, and monumental screw up, something can be salvaged from the wreck.

I may have failed NaNo’ 12, but I still produce those two/three first drafts. That ain’t summit’ to be sniffed at. We can all find the good in the bad if we try hard enough. A little perspective goes a long way.

This new found perspective has left me feeling pretty good about 2013. And, if I knuckle down, I’m still on course to hold up my end of the Mythic Scribes Blood Pact (http://mythicscribes.com/forums/writing-groups/3365-mythic-scribes-blood-pact.html). Submit for publishing by 2014? That’s 361 days of writting. Even if I rebel a bit and say… I’ll self-publish by that date, it’s still incredibly doable despite losing ground last year.

Like I said, a writer needs to be able to see the good in things. I’m thankful that I’m blessed with the mind of an optimist.

Leave a Reply

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Archives

Categories

