Google+

Redux: NaNoWriMo 2012

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 by jcfarnham

So. In about six nights time or less it’ll be that time of year again, the dreaded … November. That can only mean one thing (well, two things but I’ll get to that later). Firstly it’s NaNoWriMo and that crazy challenge where I, and other writers like me, put ourselves through metaphorical hell to knock out at least 50,000 words in 30 days. All good fun I assure you.

Challenge accepted.

Even though I’ll still be writing science fiction in the same setting as Blitz (last years NaNo), I’m considering doing something a little different this time.

I’m going to go on record right here, right now and say… I’m a fan of all those scifi shows that sort of made 90’s television for me. Think Star Trek, think Farscape, think Stargate, Babylon 5, and Firefly. Okay, some of those aired early this millenium but the point still stands.

This years NaNovel, isn’t a novel. It’s a series. (No, I’m not scripting anything I’m still “prosing it with the best of them”.) But by the end of November I plan to have at least 16 “episodes” of Convergence completed.

Here’s my reasoning:

It’s easy to get disenchanted by the length of novels. I managed to win NaNoWriMo once with a novel, but who says I can do it again? You could say I’m spreading my risk here by writing sixteen short stories with a total of 50k. Or you could say I’m being foolish… But to be honest, I’m just excited about this particular project. I’m pretty damn excited by the prospect of following in the tradition of all those awesome shows I spent my childhood watching.

Give it a month or two (or three) and you guys may even be able to acquire your very own episode (or five) of Convergence.

Oh and if I do blog during NaNoWriMo, I imagine it’ll be both incoherent and on the subject of how much I hate my characters and plots. If not…

See you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Archives

Categories

